Tricia Crain

Tricia Crain

Executive Director

Tricia joined The Arc of Story County as the Executive Director on October 31, 2011. As Executive Director, Tricia is responsible for providing overall leadership of the agency’s mission, goals, and policies that provide advocacy and community-based services that support persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Tricia comes to The Arc with a long history of working with persons with special needs. For seven years, she was the Program Director and the Employment Coordinator at Mainstream Living in Ames. Additional service and case management experiences were gained through employment with ChildServe in Ames, Des Moines Easter Seals, Dallas County DHS, and Hawkeye Health Services in Des Moines.

Tricia lives in Nevada with her husband and their three young daughters and brings to The Arc a deep commitment, an unquestionable passion, and abundant enthusiasm.

Lauren Rush

Lauren Rush

Program Coordinator

Lauren began volunteering for The Arc in 2013 before she was hired on as the Program Coordinator for Active Lifestyles in May, 2014. Since then, Lauren has found great joy in coaching, teaching, and spending time with all of our athletes in preparation for Special Olympics.

Lauren began volunteering in Special Education classrooms in middle school and organized her extracurricular high school classes around working with people with disabilities. She received her degree in Elementary Education from Iowa State University while coordinating our Active Lifestyles program. She was hired as the Project SEARCH Instructor and Coordinator in 2016 to assist in implementing Project SEARCH within Iowa State University’s College of Human Sciences.

Lauren believes a person’s passion defines who they are. Since a very young age, she has been passionate about helping others. Lauren comes to The Arc eager to create memorable experiences that will enrich the lives of persons with disabilities.


Brad Jensen – Board President

Jerry Busta – Director

Steve Freeman – Director

Lauren Gent – Treasurer

Susan Teas – Past President

Jim Kincart – Director

Judi Eyles – Director

 Kim Lively – Director

Lesley Hawkins – Secretary

Molly Toot – Director